Don Barrow - Tour of Cheshire Historic Road Rally 2017 HRCR Championship


Roger Hopkins   Roger Hopkins
Joint Chief Marshal
M 07925 651714

Noel Watson   Noel Watson
Joint Chief Marshal

Dale Cox   Dale Cox
Test Marshals Co-Ordinator
M 07908 534981

To all Marshals

Dear Marshals,

Another very successful Tour of Cheshire.

Thanks to each one of you for the considerable effort you put in to ensure the smooth running of the event.

We hope you enjoyed your day and the best of the recent weather - this morning there was some overnight snow on the cars before the heavy rain washed it away!

Many Competitors at the finish expressed their appreciation of the high standard of marshalling so a massive thank you from the Organising Team to all the Marshals who made it possible on the day.

Results are attached as a pdf or are available on the Starters Page

Thank you once again for marshalling – hope to see you in 2018.

Noel Watson & Roger Hopkins - Joint Chief Marshals

Phil Bateman's merry crew
Voted the Best Control 2017
Pete Forrester, Anwen Mountford & Phil (in pic) plus John Horrocks and Geoff Page
Well done Ladies & Gents


In my role as Clerk of the Course I would like to add my thanks, to that already passed to you by our Chief Marshals, for supporting the Tour of Cheshire and helping us with this year’s marshalling of the event.

I know from the very positive feedback we receive that the competitors really appreciate the effort all the marshals including the VIP and Ecurie Cod Fillet members put in regardless of the weather, dust, glutinous mud underfoot etc., and look forward to seeing all you either out on the regularity sections or on the tests. The high standard of marshalling is very much a trademark of the annual ToC event.

Following our post event de-brief meeting we have been able to select the winner of the 'Best Marshal Award' which goes to Phil Bateman and his team - they were 'at the ready' with first aid kits, fire extinguishers, jump leads, water, bacon butties (basically everything a distressed competitor might need!)

This year the HRCR has introduced a new initiative – a collection from the competing crews for a marshals’ draw to enable competitors to fund a contribution towards the costs incurred by marshals supporting the events, such as the Tour of Cheshire. Our collection raised £208 and we have rounded this up to £220 in order that eleven marshals each receive £20. Those eleven winning marshals whose names were ‘drawn from the hat’ have all now received their cheques.

Thank you all for your invaluable support and we hope to see you out on next year’s Tour of Cheshire on 3rd March 2018.

Mike Harrison, Clerk of the Course & THE TOUR OF CHESHIRE ORGANISING TEAM


KDMC are organising a new event later this year on Saturday, 9th September, 'The Knutsford Targa' rally.

Brief details are attached.

If you are able to offer marshalling assistance please email

Once again, we also had acting as Marshals an elite band of ECF - VIPs from the Golden Days of Rallying.

ECF Member For 2017 we had ECF Member

John Bloxham - Geoff Breakell - Peter Bryant - Terry Harrison - Cec Offley - Carolyn Tyler - Peter Valentine - Barrie 'Whizzo' Williams - Mike Wood - Peter Ward - Deryck Pickup - Mike Sones - Nigel Raeburn - Don Barrow


Since inception in 2004 the Tour of Cheshire has involved members of Ecurie Cod Fillet in the organisation, marshalling and social aspects of the event.

This unique band of rallying enthusiasts was formed in 1955 by the successful crew of Roy Fidler (King Cod) and the late John Hopwood, originally as a name for team entries in the "Motoring News" championship events and other major rallies of that era. The fish connotation came from Roy's business as a fish merchant and it soon became a much sought after honour to be invited to join its ranks. Membership has always been by invitation only - even today there are less than 300, representing a veritable "who's who" of the good old days of British rallying in the 1950's, 1960's and early 1970's.

Don Barrow - Photo by Tony Large
Russell Brookes, Will Sparrow, Tony Mason, Neil Wilson, Tony Davies, Roy Fidler, Tony Fall & Alan Jolley.

Don Barrow - A few members of Ecurie Cod Fillet ECF officiating on the 2006 Tour of Cheshire Historic Rally
John Bloxham, Rob Lyall, Toney Cox, Roy Fidler, Stuart Turner, Alan Jolley, John Hopwood, Russell Brookes & Peter Bryant

John Parsons, Mike Harrison, Howard Warren - Porsche 911 - Cath Woodman, Duncan Wild, Peter Valentine & Alan Jolley

Nigel Raeburn Nigel Raeburn
VIP ECF Liaison Officer ECF Member

Other ECF members who have officiated on the Tour of Cheshire Rally since 2004.

Roy Fidler, John Hopwood, Nigel Raeburn, Don Barrow, Alan Jolley, Stuart Turner, Mike Wood, Tony Mason, John Waddington, Barrie 'Whizzo' Williams, Carolyn Tyler-Morris, Rob Lyall, Russell Brookes, Toney Cox, John Wadsworth, Peter Valentine, Will Sparrow, John Parsons, Norman Salt, John Brown, Bob Redhead, Peter Bryant, Cec Offley, Terry Harrison, Tony Fall, Mike Broad, Roy Mapple, Neil Wilson, John Nixey, Christopher Knowles-Fitton, John Bloxham, Geoff Awde, Deryck Pickup, Rodney Spokes, Richard Harper, Peter Ward, John Wood, & more.

Add to your favourites Back to Stage Start

Knutsford & District Motor Club Ltd
Registered Office: Carlyle House, 78 Chorley New Road, Bolton, BL1 4BY - Company No. 1606623 Registered in England

© Copyright Don Barrow